New book: Wargames According to Mark

https://www.gmtgames.com/p-1113-wargames-according-to-mark.aspx

For the first time, GMT has offered a book on its P500 system. And what a book!

Mark Herman is one of the best known and prolific wargame designers out now, with a design career that stretches back to SPI days.

His first published design was Raid! Commando Operations in the 20th Century from 1977. I don’t like tactical games much, but not only was this one of my first SPI – S&T wargames it is still one of my favourites to play. After SPI, Mark created Victory Games but also became one of the few hobby gamers to make things pay on the professional side of the house. He joined Booz Allen Hamilton and as a senior partner there contributed massively to the US military’s efforts in wargaming, simulation, concept exploration and analysis. 

He is also a very pleasant and polite person, even extroverted for the wargamer stereotype… one of my fondest memories of the last Consimworld Expo I attended (in 2019, I’m going back this July after 5 years away) was talking with him and going to dinner with a gang of other folks (Bruce Geryk, me, Nick Karp, Harold Buchanan, Mark Herman). 

Designer dinner 2019

Now he’s retired (from Booz Allen, but not from games), and written a book on wargame design! Foreword is by Peter Perla, one of the last things he wrote before he died. Something like this is not to be missed, get it now for $35.00! (but UPS shipping to Canada is another $30, yowtch). There will be no problem for it to make its P500 point, I pre-ordered this morning and orders were up to nearly 400 already. Also, because it is a book, it’s very easy to produce so delay on this one will be minimal. 

About brtrain
This blog is mostly devoted to posts, work and resources on "serious" conflict simulation games.

2 Responses to New book: Wargames According to Mark

  1. bastognebulldog says:

    I pre-ordered it myself earlier today.

    Cheers,

    Jim

  2. Pete S/ SP says:

    Will have to see if I can ghet this through the Second Chance Games deal… lest postage become excessive.

    Cheers,

    Pete.

Leave a comment