Off to Connections 2012

I am leaving tomorrow to attend the Connections 2012 conference at National Defense University in Washington DC.

http://connections-wargaming.com/

While there, I will be participating in a “Game Lab” exercise where groups of us will be working on the concepts that would go into a Humanitarian Disaster Response situation, in this case the Haitian earthquake of January 2010.

http://wargamingcommunity.wordpress.com/2012/07/09/connections-game-lab-2012-haiti-earthquake-scenario/

This is something new for me, as I don’t usually design collaboratively (although I will be doing more facilitating than actual design) and have never tried this kind of design before.

Getting there will be interesting: I am going to Los Angeles, where I will meet Joe Miranda and we will travel in a (hopefully not sealed) train to Washington, via Chicago. I have never been on a long train trip before, so I am looking forward to it. Usually when I take time off from work I never get a rest because I am twice as busy shooting off in a different direction. But they say on the train there is nothign to do but ride it, and read, and walk around. Sounds good to me; every time I fly I like it less. But I will be flying home from Washington on the 29th, then back to work….

 

About brtrain
This blog is mostly devoted to posts, work and resources on "serious" conflict simulation games.

2 Responses to Off to Connections 2012

  1. Rex Brynen says:

    Enjoy the trip! We’ll expect at least five polished game designs from the pair of you by the time you reach DC…

    • brtrain says:

      Well, you might get them if the train were a sealed one… I wonder what Lenin & group did to keep themselves occupied on the long trip to the Finland Station.
      But never fear, we will have plenty to occupy our minds.

Leave a Reply

